The Nigerian Senate has confirmed on Tuesday, February 23, confirmed ex-chief of army staff, Tukur Buratai and former chief of defence Gabriel Olonisakin as non-career ambassadors.

The lawmakers also approved the nomination of former chief of air staff, Ibok Ibas; and former chief of naval staff as non-career envoys.

The Senate president Ahmed Lawan told the senators that they cannot nullify the nominations of the former military commanders simply because the house demanded a change of service chiefs.