Nigeria is mainly ruled by two major political parties; the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) and the lead opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

PAY ATTENTION: Click “See First” under the “Following” tab to see News on your Facebook News Feed!

Though the APC is the ruling party, the PDP is also in control of some states in the country. This piece lists the 36 states of the federation and the parties in control of them.

The APC controls five states in the southwest while PDP controls only one state. In the southeast, APC controls two states, PDP controls two states while All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) controls one state.

Sanwo-Olu, Akeredolu and other APC governors recently met with President Buhari

Full list of states controlled by APC, PDP after Edo, Ondo gov elections.
Photo credit: Femi Adesina
Source: Facebook

The PDP controls all the six states in the south-south. In the northwest, the APC is in control of five states while PDP rules the remaining two states. In the northeast, both APC and PDP control three states each.

In the north-central state, the APC is in charge of five states while the PDP only controls one state in the region.

In all, the APC is in control of 20 states while the PDP controls 15 states. The remaining state is controlled by the APGA. notes that the APC lost Edo to the PDP in the last governorship election while it retained Ondo. Also, the PDP lost Ebonyi to the APC with the defection of Governor David Umahi.

Governor Seyi Makinde of Oyo state with his Rivers state counterpart, Nyesom Wike

Full list of states controlled by APC, PDP after Edo, Ondo gov elections.
Photo credit: @PDP_2023
Source: Twitter


1. Lagos – APC

2. Ogun – APC

3. Oyo – PDP

4. Osun – APC

5. Ondo – APC

6. Ekiti – APC


1. Abia – PDP

2. Ebonyi – APC

3. Enugu – PDP

4. Imo – APC

5. Anambra – APGA


1. Akwa Ibom – PDP

2. Cross River – PDP

3. Bayelsa – PDP

4. Rivers – PDP

5. Edo – PDP

6. Delta – PDP


1. Jigawa – APC

2. Kaduna – APC

3. Kano – APC

4. Katsina – APC

5. Kebbi – APC

6. Sokoto – PDP

7. Zamfara – PDP


1. Adamawa – PDP

2. Bauchi – PDP

3. Borno – APC

4. Gombe – APC

5. Taraba – PDP

6. Yobe – APC


1. Kogi – APC

2. Kwara – APC

3. Nasarawa – APC

4. Niger – APC

5. Plateau – APC

6. Benue – PDP

PAY ATTENTION: Install our latest app for Android, read best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Meanwhile, amid the rumour about the alleged plan by the governor of Benue state, Samuel Ortom, to dump the PDP, the governors elected on the platform of the APC from the north-central paid a visit to Makurdi.

There were speculations that the governors, who visited Ortom in Makurdi on Sunday, December 20, were at the state Government House to woo their counterpart back into the APC.

However, speaking on the visit, the governor of Niger state and chairman of the North Central Governors’ Forum (NCGF), Abubakar Sani Bello, on Monday, December 21, debunked the speculations.

APC sacks NWC, appoints caretaker committee | – on Legit TV